h1

Just looking

08/21/2013

JustLookingMaybe the shift to cooler weather has something to do with it. Here we are at the turn of the seasons and transition seems to be beckoning us . . . everywhere.

In the studio I focus on the shift by looking; Reviewing my sketchbooks, my accumulation of materials and lately my pinterest pins. I look at what my attractions were. The colors, forms and ideas. I look for trends in my thinking. I flip through the newly arrived art supply catalogs looking for the “mix” to put into my media. What might I try next?

Sometimes focusing not on the work helps to freshen our perspective when we return to the work. Looking, reviewing and seeking are ways to check in with your artistic path and keep yourself focused on that journey. When all else fails, just keep looking.

 

One comment

  1. Focus hocus pocus



Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

