h1

unstuck

02/08/2011

I have been so stuck! Everything on my work table and easel has not been going well. I know all artists hit these bumps but this has been a long period of banging my head against the easel (maybe it should have been the canvas). The main piece in question has some things I really like about it. Therefore, I was reluctant to give it up. I was determined to struggle through it. The minute I thought I should just walk away and work on something else I would find one small thing to tweak. A dab of paint, a layer of paper, that would do the trick. It may be overworked at this point. I have looked at it so long I have no perspective on it anymore. Away it went to the other side of the room.

I started fresh with two new canvases. I thought it was going to be a diptych but I think they are the beginning of a series. I created some new papers to collage with. I bought a new tube of paint in a color I had not had before. I created some stamps and started thinking about stenciling or maybe silk screening. Suddenly I have found my elements again. I am unstuck.

Leave a comment

