h1

Paths

09/20/2012

I have been thinking about the paths we take. The paths through art and everywhere else. I have been looking at everything and wondering why we are drawn to certain things; shapes, colors, textures, themes . . .  Even when the path changes the same things keep cropping up, calling me back.

I am sure this phenomenon appears in my work, consciously or not. The question now becomes one of awareness. How do I become more aware of my natural inclinations? Can you see those trends in the works of others? What can we learn from that?

One comment

  1. I’m often asking myself this question too (” why we are drawn to certain things; shapes, colors, textures, themes”). I end up thinking there must be some combination between the way our brain interprets at a biological level (hence you get universal imagery & understanding of it, at a certain level) & then all the experiences we have which continually lead through to other branching paths & make each person’s choices, ideas, responses & ways of seeing unique.

    I’m not sure I’ll ever answer it though – still, that’s part of what makes it interesting to keep exploring I think.



Leave a comment

